Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Anderson named in England squad for Sri Lanka Test

Anderson named in England squad for Sri Lanka Test

Lancashire bowler James Anderson has been named in the England squad for the opening Test against Sri Lanka.

Jos Buttler has been selected in the England Performance Squad.

Uncapped Jake Ball and James Vince included in England squad to face Sri Lanka

Nottinghamshire seam bowler Jake Ball and Hampshire batsman James Vince are the only two uncapped players named in the squad.

ECB National Selector, James Whitaker, said:

“Both Jake Ball and James Vince thoroughly deserve their opportunity having performed well with the England Lions and starting the season in good form with their respective counties.

“Building on his success with the Lions in the winter, Jake has impressed with the ball and shown excellent control and skill in the opening matches of the County Championship. If selected, we are confident he will perform very well at international level.

“James has been a consistent performer for Hampshire and England Lions over the past few years. He is already well regarded by the England coaches in the short format and now has the opportunity to showcase his skills at Test level.

“Sri Lanka are a young side and we expect a strong series between the two teams to start the summer of international cricket.

“The selectors would like to take this opportunity to wish Alastair Cook, Trevor Bayliss and the rest of the squad the best of luck for the series.”

England 12-man Test squad

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Nick Compton (Middlesex)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
James Vince (Hampshire)

The squad will meet up on Monday May 16 in Leeds.

A 30-man Performance Squad for the 2016 summer season has been announced. This includes the 22 players who are centrally contracted and incrementally contracted. The additional eight players, currently in the County system, make up the rest.

ECB Director of England Cricket, Andrew Strauss, added:

“This is the first time in two seasons we have selected an England Performance Squad. I feel that it is important that we do so to enable our staff to monitor effectively those players who are on our radar, but not necessarily part of one of the England teams. It is also important to point out that it does not confine the selectors to pick from this squad.”

England 30-man Performance Squad

Moeen Ali* (Worcestershire)
James Anderson* (Lancashire)
Zafar Ansari (Surrey)
Jonny Bairstow^ (Yorkshire)
Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)
Gary Ballance^ (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell* (Warwickshire)
Sam Billings (Kent)
Stuart Broad* (Nottinghamshire)
Jos Buttler* (Lancashire)
Nick Compton^ (Middlesex)
Alastair Cook* (Essex)
Tom Curran (Surrey)
Liam Dawson (Hampshire)
Steven Finn* (Middlesex)
Mark Footitt (Surrey)
Alex Hales^ (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan^ (Sussex)
Eoin Morgan* (Middlesex)
Jamie Overton (Somerset)
Liam Plunkett^ (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid^ (Yorkshire)
Joe Root*(Yorkshire)
Jason Roy^ (Surrey)
Ben Stokes* (Durham)
Reece Topley (Hampshire)
James Vince (Hampshire)
David Willey^ (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes^ (Warwickshire)
Mark Wood* (Durham)

*England Centrally Contracted
^ England Incrementally Contracted

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site