Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Women’s Cricket Super League names revealed

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the playing schedule and team names for the six hosts that will compete in the inaugural Women’s Cricket Super League.

This summer, 90 of the most talented female players from England and across the world will come together to play for one of the following six teams:

Team Name

Host Details

Lancashire Thunder

Lancashire Cricket Board with partners Lancashire County Cricket Club and LCCC Foundation

Loughborough Lightning

Loughborough University

Southern Vipers

Hampshire Cricket with partners

Surrey Stars

Surrey County Cricket Club

Western Storm

Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire CountyCricket Club, University of Exeter

Yorkshire Diamonds

Yorkshire County Cricket Club


The inaugural season of the Women’s Cricket Super League will see the six new teams take part in a round-robin Twenty20 competition from Saturday 30th July to Sunday 14th August.  The tournament will feature 15 group matches in 16 days and climax with a finals day on Sunday 21st August.

Other key aspects of the schedule (attached) released by the ECB today include:

  • At least twelve matches to be played at seven First Class venues including: the Ageas Bowl (Southern Vipers), the Bristol County Ground and the County Ground, Taunton (Western Storm), Emirates Old Trafford (Lancashire Thunder), Headingley (Yorkshire Diamonds), the Kia Oval (Surrey Stars) and the Essex County Ground (finals day)
  • A good spread of fixtures are scheduled throughout the group stage, with matches on nine of the 16 days and at least one match to be played on all three of the encompassing weekends
  • Home fixtures for Lancashire Thunder at Blackpool CC and at Emirates Old Trafford

The opening weekend of action will see Yorkshire Diamonds host Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, followed on Sunday 31st July by Southern Vipers taking on Surrey Stars at the Ageas Bowl, and Lancashire Thunder travelling to the CountyGround, Taunton to play Western Storm.

After the last round of group matches on Sunday 14th August, the Essex County Ground in Chelmsford will host a finals day on Sunday 21st August to decide the winner of the inaugural competition.

ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “Today represents another huge step towards delivering our vision of creating a dynamic, inspirational and high quality domestic women’s game in England.  The fixture list includes some mouth-watering contests and none more so than Lancashire Thundertaking on Yorkshire Diamonds in an evening game at the Emirates Old Trafford on Friday 12th August.

“This time last year the Women’s Cricket Super League was simply a concept, and now we have six exciting new teams, some innovative partnerships and a fixture list that includes at least 12 matches being played at seven different First Class grounds across the country.

“As each stage of the process unfolds, we keep striving to push new boundaries.  We are now looking forward to working with Lancashire Thunder and the other five teams over the next few weeks to reveal their kits, colours and brands, as well as the central competition logo and branding.”

Bobby Cross, Lancashire Thunder’s General Manager, added: “With the announcement of the team names and playing schedule the competition is now becoming real and it is a very exciting time for all concerned. We are delighted to announce the Lancashire Thunder name that will sit proudly alongside the men’s team in the county.”

“For the players to be able to look forward to playing at Taunton and then more locally at Blackpool CC and finishing the group stage under lights on a Friday evening at Emirates Old Trafford is fantastic and shows just how important the women’s game is to us.”

The key aims of the Women’s Cricket Super League include the development of ever higher standards for the England women’s team with greater competition for places, alongside inspiring more women and girls to play cricket at all levels.  It will offer new opportunities, a new narrative for the game and new role models, as well as a network of six new teams linked to their communities.

The six selected hosts provide a strong geographical spread and encompass diverse partnership working from across the cricket and educational landscapes.  In total, seven First Class counties, five Non-First Class counties and three universities are involved, creating a collaborative, imaginative and wide-ranging project.

The Women’s Cricket Super League will expand from only including Twenty20 (T20) cricket in 2016 to incorporating both T20 and 50-over formats in future seasons.  All six teams have been awarded hosting rights for a four-year period from 2016-2019 inclusive.

Find Out More
Hospitality packages
Find Out More
Conference and Events
Find Out More
2019 Specsavers Ashes
Find Out More
Search the site