Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Lancashire Thunder's England & Overseas players confirmed

Lancashire Thunder's England & Overseas players confirmed

England and International players announced for 2017 Kia Super League

Danielle Hazell has been named new Captain of Lancashire Thunder for the 2017 Kia Super League after the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) earlier today announced the player allocations for this summer’s Kia Super League.

Lancashire Thunder's overseas players will include all-rounder Jess Jonassen, who has played for Brisbane Heat in the Women’s Big Bash down under. The 24 year-old has made 94 appearances for Australia in all formats of the game since making her debut in 2002.

Amy Satterthwaite will be returning to Lancashire Thunder after captaining the side last year. The 30 year-old has had a stunning winter for New Zealand after hitting four centuries in a row in ODI cricket.

Finally, Lea Tahuhu will join Lancashire Thunder after playing in the Kia Super League with the Surrey Stars last year. The 26 year-old is one of the fastest bowlers in the women’s game and has made 75 appearances for New Zealand in both IT20 and ODI.


England’s Danielle Wyatt will switch from Lancashire Thunder to the Southern Vipers as a replacement for the unavailable Lydia Greenway. Whilst, Hazell will be joined by Kate Cross and Sarah Taylor, who are Thunder’s other England players.

New Lancashire Thunder captain Danielle Hazell said: “It’s a real honour to be named captain of the Lancashire Thunder. I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to captain England for a game during the winter against Sri Lanka and I’m looking forward to building on my captaincy experience and hopefully leading the Thunder to a successful season.

Thunder General Manager Bobby Cross said: "We are delighted to welcome Danielle Hazell to the squad and she will add a huge amount to the group. Equally, we’re sorry to be losing Danni Wyatt and we’d like to take the chance to thank her for her energy and enthusiasm last summer.

"We are also delighted to welcome back Amy Satterthwaite and the two new overseas players Lea Tahuhu and Jess Jonassen are players we were very keen to sign, they both add significant skill and experience to our playing squad and it will make for another very exciting summer."

ECB Director of Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said: “This is a huge summer for women’s cricket and we look forward to seeing the world’s best talent on show at both the ICC Women’s World Cup followed by the Kia Super League. There will hopefully be some great momentum behind women’s cricket after the World Cup and the Kia Super League can take advantage of that. It is an opportunity to continue to raise the bar for our sport.

“After the success of 2016, we know we can expect to see some outstanding performances in the second season of this T20 competition. Hopefully the players and the quality of cricket can inspire new participants and fans across the country.”

After the success of the first Kia Super League last summer, the second season will see six teams taking part in a round-robin competition over a 17-day period and across 13 different venues from Thursday 10 August to Saturday 26 August. The competition will climax in a showcase finals day on Friday 1 September at the 1st Central County Ground in Hove.


Danielle Hazell Lancashire Thunder.jpg

England Women’s Performance Squad and overseas player allocations in full: 

Lancashire Thunder

Kate Cross

Danielle Hazell

Sarah Taylor

Jess Jonassen (AUS)

Amy Satterthwaite (NZ)

Lea Tahuhu (NZ)

Loughborough Lightning

Georgia Elwiss

Amy Jones

Beth Langston

Kristen Beams (AUS)

Ellyse Perry (AUS)

Elyse Villani (AUS)

Southern Vipers

Tash Farrant

Danielle Wyatt

Suzie Bates (NZ)

Hayley Matthews (WI)

Dane van Niekerk (SA)

Surrey Stars

Tammy Beaumont

Alex Hartley

Laura Marsh

Natalie Sciver

Rene Farrell (AUS)

Marizanne Kapp (SA)

Western Storm

Heather Knight

Anya Shrubsole

Fran Wilson

Rachel Priest (NZ)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Yorkshire Diamonds

Katherine Brunt

Jenny Gunn

Lauren Winfield

Sophie Devine (NZ)

Sune Luus (SA)

Beth Mooney (AUS)


welcome to the land of franchises. Alex Hartley switches back to the Lancashire Women's team but remains with Surrey Stars.
Can't wait for 2020 when Croft, Parry, Livingstone etc are drafted into a Leeds or London franchise team.

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site