Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Captain Vilas takes home three End of Season awards

Captain Vilas takes home three End of Season awards

The Lancashire skipper won the main prize, Player of the Year as voted for by the Members, as one of three gongs at 2019's End of Season Awards dinner

Lancashire captain Dane Vilas deservedly scooped three awards at tonight’s End of Season Awards held in The Point at Emirates Old Trafford.

The skipper picked up the headline award, Player of the Year, winning a Members’ vote overwhelmingly to collect the prize.

The 34-year-old also won the Red Rose Player of the Year, voted for among the Red Rose Members, as well as the Championship player of the year for his outstanding performances in leading Lancashire through an unbeaten First-Class season, their first since 1974, in winning the Division Two title.

Vilas scored 1,036 runs in 14 Championship matches at an average of 74.63, including a career-best 266 against Glamorgan, the highest by a Lancashire number six in First-Class history and the highest score by anyone in this year’s County Championship.

He led the side to a Royal London One-Day Cup semi-final, scoring 439 runs including a remarkable 166 in the match against Notts Outlaws, and also reached the Vitality Blast quarter-final, adding a further 259 runs in the competition.

Recent England call-up Saqib Mahmood won the One-Day Player of the Year after an incredible season in the Royal London One-Day Cup. The right-arm seam bowler finished with a tournament-high 28 wickets which almost powered Lancashire to a Lord’s final.

T20 Player of the Year went to Glenn Maxwell for his outstanding contribution on and off the pitch during the Vitality Blast. The all-rounder scored three fifties in making 305 runs in the competition, took six wickets and eight catches, including a club record four in an innings during the thrilling win over Notts Outlaws at Emirates Old Trafford.

The award was collected by Josh Bohannon on Maxwell’s behalf, with the 22-year-old winning the Young Player of the Year after an impressive season of progression, culminating in a maiden First-Class century batting at number three against Derbyshire earlier this month.

Champagne Moment of the Year was presented to Steven Croft on behalf of the Lancashire squad for the thrilling one-run win over Yorkshire in the Royal London One-Day Cup match at Headingley.

Emma Lamb won Lancashire Thunder’s Player of the Year award after taking ten wickets, with a best of 3/33 against beaten finalists Southern Vipers, while also adding 115 runs.

Lancashire Women’s Player of the Year went to Georgie Boyce for scoring 383 runs during their One-Day and T20 campaigns, with Boyce finishing as the tournament’s third-highest run-scorer in the 50-over competition.

Northern Cricket Club were selected as Club of the Year, Wasim Afridi was named Disability Player of the Year for a second successive season and Liz Chamberlain of Adlington CC won Volunteer of the Year, as nominated by awards sponsors AO.

Norden Cricket Club also had their Lancashire Knockout Cup trophy, sponsored by Heineken, re-presented after beating Darwen Cricket Club in the final at the beginning of September.

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site