Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Lancashire Thunder trio awarded Central Contracts for 2019

Lancashire Thunder trio awarded Central Contracts for 2019

Central Contracts for Cross, Hartley and Ecclestone

England Women have announced their new raft of central contracts for 2019, with the Lancashire Thunder trio of Kate Cross, Alex Hartley and Sophie Ecclestone earning full Central Contracts.

Pace bowler Cross, who in 2006 became the first female cricketer accepted into the Lancashire Academy, has played three Tests, 15 ODIs and four T20Is - she has reccently finished a stint in the WBBL with Perth Scorchers.

Hartley took 10 wickets as England claimed Cricket World Cup glory on home turf in 2017, including two in the final against India at Lord's, the left-arm spinner also featured in the WBBL for Hobart Hurriances.

19-year-old Ecclestone, another left-arm spinner, has represented England in all three formats since her debut in 2016 and finished as Thunder's leading wicket-taker in the 2018 KSL with 15 wickets.

Sussex seamer Freya Davies has been awarded her first full Central Contract, alongside Surrey's Bryony Smith, who received her first call-up to the senior team for last year's tri-series against India and Australia, is now on a Rookie Contract.

Smith is joined on the Rookie list by Linsey Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards and Katie George.

Tash Farrant and Beth Langston have been released, while Dani Hazell announced her retirement from the international game last month.

Twenty-one players are now centrally contracted to ECB - four of those on Rookie Contracts.

The new contracts signify a higher level of remuneration for England Women, continuing the trend since the women's game turned professional in 2014.

The overall salary pot has grown by 10 per cent on 2018, with several players receiving an increase of between 15 and 30 per cent on their 2018 salary. The bonus pot for bi-lateral series wins has also been increased by 25 per cent.

The full retained list is as follows:

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Kate Cross (Lancashire)
Freya Davies (Sussex)
Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire)
Alex Hartley (Lancashire)
Amy Jones (Warwickshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Nat Sciver (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Fran Wilson (Kent)
Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)
Danni Wyatt (Sussex)
Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)*
Katie George (Hampshire)*
Bryony Smith (Surrey)*
Linsey Smith (Sussex)*
*Denotes rookie contract

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site