Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

North West Cup to kick off women's season

North West Cup to kick off women's season

Players from Lancashire, Cheshire and Cumbria will contest the first North West Cup starting at Morecambe CC tomorrow

The Women’s North West Cup kicks off tomorrow (5 August) with players from Lancashire, Cheshire and Cumbria taking part.

Players from the neighbouring counties will be mixed to make up three teams Jaguars, Cheetahs and Tigers, with the first round of fixtures being held at Morecambe Cricket Club.

The competition format will see two rounds of T20 fixtures played between all three teams, followed by three 50 over fixtures with each team playing the other once.

The North West Cup has been created to provide players from the North West region with valuable county cricket during the COVID-19 pandemic, while also offering an opportunity to perform in front of the Thunder coaching staff and the Regional Academy coaching team.

Following the conclusion of the tournament, a squad will be selected for a 50 over Roses clash against Yorkshire Women at the end of August and further fixtures with Scotland A in September.

David Thorley, Regional Director of Women’s Cricket for the North West, said: “Whilst it has certainly been a frustrating few months for the players, I am delighted that there is now an opportunity for the North West Counties to come together to play, what I believe, will be some tightly contested games.

“The balanced teams playing across two formats will challenge the players and will provide us with an opportunity to see most players in a match setting over the next couple of weeks.

“Lancashire, Cheshire and Cumbria have shown great collaboration to pull this together and special mention should also go to Jen Barden who has been working hard to get everything in place.”

North West Cup 2020 fixtures:

Wednesday 5 August, Morecambe CC - T20 Round 1

Tuesday 11 August, Bury CC - T20 Round 2

Tuesday 18 August, Liverpool CC – Tigers vs Cheetahs (50 over match)

Wednesday 19 August, venue TBC – Jaguars vs Tigers (50 over match)

Thursday 20 August, Ainsdale CC – Cheetahs vs Jaguars (50 over match)


Jaguars: Duckworth, Marshall, Kesteven, Jones, Hartley, Smale, Mullan, C Boardman, Singh, M Smith, Earl, Hudson, McDonald, Holt, Collins

Cheetahs: Threlkeld, Brown, Thomas, Turner, Hodge, Heath, Kaye, Shaw, Hutchison, White, Sheriden, Michelle, Johnson, Brinsden, Othick

Tigers: Boyce, Jackson, Heap, Clarke, Robinson, Colman, Thompson, Heaton, S Smith, Roffit, Price, Bell, Sutton, Dyson

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site