Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Thunder trio named in England squad for Women's World Cup

Thunder trio named in England squad for Women's World Cup

North West Thunder all-rounder Emma Lamb has been named amongst England's 15 player strong squad ahead of the ICC Women's World Cup in New Zealand.

Fellow Thunder teammates Sophie Ecclestone and Kate Cross were also included in head coach Lisa Keightley's squad following England's Ashes tour, in which Lamb made her England ODI debut in the final game of the series.

England will be looking to bounce back from their Ashes defeat with their sights firmly set on retaining the trophy that Heather Knight’s team lifted at Lord’s in 2017.

Jonathan Finch, Director of England Women’s Cricket, said: “The ICC Women’s World Cup is a special event in the international women’s cricket calendar and we are excited by the squad we have selected.

“The chance to refocus our intentions immediately after the disappointment of the Ashes is exciting and provides an opportunity to embrace the challenge of a global event.

“The England Women’s A series that ran alongside the Ashes enabled a wider group of players to compete for a place in the squad which has made for some tough calls on selection.

“Emma Lamb, a consistent performer across domestic cricket, comes into the squad after making her international debut last summer and offers multiple options with the bat and as an all-rounder with her off-spin bowling.

“Success at World Cups is often the pinnacle of a player’s career and we wish all those selected all the best in their quest to win on the world stage.”

The tournament will get underway on the Friday 4 March with England's first game taking place the next day as they face Australia once again.

England Women’s Squad

Heather Knight (Western Storm, cap)

Tammy Beaumont (Lightning)

Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds)

Freya Davies (South East Stars)

Charlie Dean (Southern Vipers)

Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars)

Kate Cross (Thunder)

Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder)

Tash Farrant (South East Stars)

Amy Jones (Central Sparks)

Emma Lamb (Thunder)

Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice-captain)

Anya Shrubsole (Western Storm)

Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds)

Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Travelling Reserves

Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers)

Mady Villiers (Sunrisers)

 Sat 05 March
 01:00 (GMT)
 Seddon Park, Hamilton 14:00 SAT 05 MARCH (LOCAL)

 Tue 08 March
 22:00 (GMT)
 University Oval, Dunedin 11:00 WED 09 MARCH (LOCAL)

 Mon 14 March
 01:00 (GMT)
 Bay Oval, Tauranga 14:00 MON 14 MARCH (LOCAL)
 Wed 16 March
 01:00 (GMT)
 Bay Oval, Tauranga 14:00 WED 16 MARCH (LOCAL)
 Sat 19 March
 22:00 (GMT)
 Eden Park, Auckland 11:00 SUN 20 MARCH (LOCAL)

 Thu 24 March
 01:00 (GMT)
 Hagley Oval, Christchurch 14:00 THU 24 MARCH (LOCAL)

 Sat 26 March
 22:00 (GMT)
 Basin Reserve, Wellington 11:00 SUN 27 MARCH (LOCAL)

Vitality Blast
Find Out More
Find Out More
Official Store
Find Out More
Hilton Garden Inn
Find Out More
2021 Memberships
Find Out More
Search the site