Home Hotel Contact Shop Vacancies Concerts Dots Search Newsletter Ticket Ticket alternative Skip to main content

Thunder Academy intake announced for 2024

Thunder Academy intake announced for 2024

Thunder Cricket is pleased to announce its Academy intake for the 2024 season.

The 15-strong squad, led by Senior Regional Talent Manager Paul Hindmarch, will undertake a winter training programme in the Trafford Cricket Centre at Emirates Old Trafford during the winter months before moving into a schedule of fixtures for the 2024 season.

11 players Summer Carrington, Liv Brinsden, Maeve Jones, Eliza Cottam, Grace Johnson, Bethan Robinson, Liv Cunliffe, Hannah Snape, Amelia Sammons, Emilia Lamb and Tilly Kesteven have all been retained with Olivia Bell and Sophie Morris moving upwards after making their first team debuts for Thunder during the 2023 season.

Four players Venus Weerapuli, Martha Rimmer, Grace Hemsted and Holly Brown have moved up into the Thunder Academy system after graduating from the Emerging Players Programme (EPP).

Thunder Academy 2024:

  1. Summer Carrington (Lancashire)
  2. Liv Brinsden (Cumbria) 
  3. Maeve Jones (Lancashire)
  4. Eliza Cottam (Lancashire)
  5. Grace Johnson (Lancashire)
  6. Bethan Robinson (Cheshire)
  7. Liv Cunliffe (Lancashire)
  8. Hannah Snape (Lancashire)
  9. Amelia Sammons (Lancashire)
  10. Emilia Lamb (Lancashire)
  11. Tilly Kesteven (Cheshire)
  12. Venus Weerapulli (Lancashire)
  13. Martha Rimmer (Lancashire)
  14. Grace Hemsted (Cheshire)
  15. Holly Brown (Lancashire)

Senior Regional Talent Manager, Paul Hindmarch, said: “‘We are delighted with the 2023/24 Academy intake, all players retained have a fantastic work ethic and desire to keep improving which is great recipe for future success.

“It’s pleasing to see four players gain Academy place from our newly formed Emerging Player Programmes (EPP) after impressing over the summer, very much looking forward to supporting the group over the winter months.

"Finally, I would like to say congratulations to the three Academy graduates that have earned a Senior contract: Olivia Bell, Sophie Morris and Ailsa Lister. We wish them all the best and hope it’s just the start of a long successful career at Thunder.”

Search the site